Board of Trustees

As the governing body of the school, the trustees, in partnership with the headmaster, are responsible for providing leadership and a framework within which the faculty members and administration implement the institutional mission.

The Board delegates to the headmaster the responsibility for leading the school and designing and implementing the curriculum to meet the goals of the institutional mission and policies. It is the responsibility of the Board to oversee the actions of the headmaster in these endeavors.

The Board of Trustees does not intervene in the daily affairs of the school, including curriculum development, hiring, evaluating, or terminating faculty and staff. Instead, the Board focuses on three areas critical to the success of any independent school:

  • Selecting, evaluating, and supporting the head of school, to whom it delegates authority to manage the school
  • Developing broad institutional policies that guide the head of school in running the school
  • Being accountable for the financial well-being of the school

In the conduct of its official business, the Board acts only as a whole; individual trustees, including the Board chair, have no authority to act unless specifically authorized to do so by the Board acting as a whole. The Board is comprised of various committees, which closely parallel the operational functions of the school. Excluding the Executive Committee, participation on a committee is not restricted to trustees. Some committees include representatives from the faculty, the patron body, and/or the alumni body.

Meet Our Trustees

Dr. Colin McComiskey
Mr. Potter Adams
Vice Chair
Mr. Ben Cooley
Mr. Shane Cambre
Mr. Tyler Daniel
Mrs. Elke Digby
The Rev. Seth Donald
Mrs. Nicole Gossell
CESPA Representative
Mr. Brian Grubb
Mrs. Susan Hanlon
Mr. Brian Laborde
Dr. Dottie McComiskey
Dr. John Murray
Head of School
Mr. Chad Penton
Vestry Representative
Mr. Cody Perilloux
Mr. John Pousson
Director of Finance/Operations